Driver’s License Revocation Under Aaron’s Law
Recently, many Oklahomans have been receiving unexpected letters informing them that their driver’s license was revoked. This is a result of legal changes that not many people are not aware of. In November 2011, the Oklahoma legislature enacted a bill called Aaron’s Law. This bill was in response to the death of Aaron Zentz, a 17-year old from Yukon who was killed in Oklahoma City when his car was struck by a woman running a stop light.
This bill, in a nutshell, increased the penalties for certain acts committed while operating a motor vehicle. Most importantly, Aaron’s Law imposed an automatic revocation of your driver’s license upon conviction of certain crimes. This article will discuss what crimes Aaron’s Law effects.
If you fall into any of the following categories, you need to immediately seek representation to protect your rights. If any of the following charges result in a conviction, your driver’s license will automatically be revoked for a minimum of 6 months, and possibly more depending upon your criminal record.
- If you are charged with manslaughter or negligent homicide resulting from your operation of a motor vehicle;
- If you are charged with a DUI or actual physical possession;
- If you are charged with committing a felony and used a motor vehicle during the commission of that felony;
- If you are involved in a motor vehicle accident and someone is injured and you fail to stop and render aid as required under Oklahoma laws;
- If you are charged with perjury or the making of a false affidavit or statement under oath to the Department or under any other law relating to the ownership or operation of motor vehicles;
- If you are charged with a misdemeanor or felony for unlawfully possessing, distributing, dispensing, manufacturing, trafficking, cultivating, selling, transferring, attempting or conspiring to possess, distribute, dispense, manufacture, traffic, sell, or transfer of a controlled dangerous substance as defined in the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Act while using a motor vehicle;
- If you are charged with failing to pay for gasoline pumped into a vehicle;
- If you are a carrier or other person having property or goods under your control for the purpose of interstate transportation for hire and are charged with abandoning the property or goods without notice to the owner of the property or goods;
- If you are a person owning or operating a hired bus or limousine service vehicle licensed as a “motor carrier or persons or property, and are charged with knowingly transporting minors, under the age of 21, who are in the possession of, or who are consuming, alcoholic beverages;
- If you are charged with reckless driving without regard for the safety of others;
- If you are charged with failure to obey a traffic control device (stop light) or a stop sign and your failures results in great bodily injury to any other person; or
- If you are charged with failing to stop or to remain stopped for school bus loading or unloading of children.
As you can see the list is quite long and can become very complicated depending upon the charges against you. It’s important to remember that if you are charged with any of these crimes and enter a plea of “guilty” or “nolo contendre” your license will automatically be revoked, even if you are not sentenced to jail. In some instances, an attorney can assist you in obtaining a “modified license“. However, the time requirements for appealing a license suspension or applying for a modified license are very strict. If you have been charged with any crime involving an automobile you should immediately seek legal representation before attempting to take on the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety.